Archives

Q: In a two-player game, if one player has the Zombie Repellent, does Larry essentially not move when the Goal changes?

…So the other player is just stuck with him all the time?

A: Yes, sadly, that is indeed the case. We look to the wording on the Zombie Repellent, which states that Zombies are instantly moved away from the player with that Keeper. Instantly means that there is no time when the Zombie is in that player’s possession and, there being no “in between” place or “in between” time for him to be in any other place, the instant he is moved away when the Goal changes, he is instantly repelled back to the only other player in the game.

Though Larry is particularly punishing in some respects, when he stops moving, he becomes, in many ways MORE like all of the other Zombies – and, while you won’t be able to MOVE him away from you, there are plenty of other ways to KILL Zombies in the deck. You’ll just have to break out the Shotgun, or declare open Zombie Season, or invoke that Weapons Bonus to use some Lumber on him so you can take him out of play entirely.

Q: When using a card that moves when the Goal is changed, what happens when you add a second Goal for Double Agenda? What about when it goes away?

A: For cards like the Radioactive Potato or Larry the Zombie, we would rule that the Goal, as a set, has been changed if you:

• Go from zero Goals to one
• Change one Goal out for another
• Go from one Goal to two
• Change one of the two Goals
• Go from two Goals to one
• Go from one goal to zero

All of these things would be considered a change in the Goal. The cards that could make that last situation happen may not be in Zombie Fluxx or Fluxx 4.0, but there is at least one card out there that can make that happen.

Q: If there’s a Creeper that moves around the table when a Goal is played, does the Goal take effect first, or does the Creeper move first?

A: It depends. The Creepers: Larry the Zombie, the Radioactive Potato, and the Time Bomb all move in the counter-turn direction whenever the Goal changes, however, the Time Bomb has a minor exception that makes it work slightly differently than the other two.

For Larry and the Radioactive Potato, the Goal change and the Creeper move are considered to be simultaneous. Basically, do both of the things (play the Goal and move the Creeper) and then check win conditions.

If Larry or the Potato are moving around the table preventing wins, and you play what would be the winning Goal, you need to time the play of your Goal so that they’re not going to move onto you with the play.

Conversely if the Rule: You Also Need A Baked Potato is in play such that you need the Radioactive Potato to move onto you with your winning Goal play, you’ll need to plan such that the Potato does move onto you with the Goal play. Getting the timing right to play the Goal you need is part of the challenge of having either of these on the table.

The Time Bomb in Mystery Fluxx has an exception such that, if you have the Bomb and the Body in front of you when you play the Goal: Blown to Smithereens, you can win immediately instead of having the Time Bomb sneakily slip out of your grasp just when you’ve played the Goal.

Unless you’re winning by playing that Goal yourself, however, the Time Bomb will functionally work the same way as the other two. So you’d better make sure you’re not handing your neighbor with the Body the win when you play Blown to Smithereens!

PS: Or you can plan for the sneaky Time Bomb to move to you when you have the Body, and win that way!

Q: Is Larry affected by the Sonic Tranquilizer?

A: Yes. It says on the Sonic Tranquilizer you can ignore any Zombies you have when trying to win, so if you have the Tranquilizer, it’s as if you don’t have Larry. Although it says on Larry that he prevents victory even if the Rules or Goals say otherwise, the Tranquilizer is a Keeper, so it still works. (Unless “It’s Not Working!” is in play, of course.)