A: No. But keep in mind that it might give that player a reason to make you Walk the Plank, or be given the Shackles…
A: Well, if the Captain’s Hat is in play (i.e. if there is a player designated the Captain) then that person is the one who gets to decide who Walks The Plank, so the only way the Captain could be made to Walk The Plank is if they voluntarily walk off it themselves, essentially.
A: The Action Rough Seas says “All players who do not have a Ship Keeper on the table in front of them must discard cards and Keepers as if the rules in play were Hand Limit 2 and Keeper Limit 2. (This includes the player who played this.)”
Meanwhile, the New Rule Long Live The Captain says “Ignore any Keeper Limits if the Captain’s Hat is on the table in front of you
After some discussion, we’re going with the logical intent flowing from the theme, rather than a tight reading of how we happen to have expressed the wording. Being the Captain doesn’t affect the weather: the Captain has to deal with Rough Seas just like anybody else if he doesn’t have a Ship.
Andy happens to have worded the Rough Seas card to compare the action to Hand & Keeper Limits: “…as if the rules in play were…” but it’s not as though actual Limits have come into play. He would have been better off saying: “All players…must discard down to 3 cards in hand and 2 Keepers in play” – which is, in fact, how we will re-word this next time we reprint.
A: The short answer is yes, you can’t Plunder the Captain’s Hat itself, but you can Plunder anything else from the Captain (unless he has the Cutlass or the Pistol).
Think of it this way: while the Captain outranks the owners of both the Cutlass and Pistol when Plundering from them, it is not, in fact a weapon which protects the Captain’s own Keepers.
A: Yes. All of the various ways the Captain’s Hat might move around in a Mutiny would be considered changes of Keeper ownership.
A: No, and No. If the Captain themselves draws the Shackles, they can decide who will get them instead, but once they have been assigned to a person, or if they were drawn by another person in the first place, the Captain does not affect them.
You might be confusing this with the Captain’s influence over who must Walk The Plank. No matter who plays Walk The Plank, the Captain (if the Captain’s Hat is in play) gets to decide who loses all their cards.
…for example, if you want to avoid making someone else win with your last card, which happens to be a Goal?
A: Yes. It says choose a player, which means you can choose any player, including yourself – unless the Captain says otherwise!
A: Yes. “Plunder” has a very specific meaning in Pirate Fluxx, namely the power granted by the Plunder Rule. Steal a Keeper (and similar effects, like Exchange a Keeper) are not Plundering, they are stealing. So you CAN use the Steal a Keeper card to take away the Captain’s Hat as usual, but you can NOT take it with the free Plunder allowed by the Plunder rule.