Martian Fluxx FAQ

Also be sure to check out All Fluxx FAQ for more general questions. If you don’t see your question answered among these, please email us at:
FAQ@looneylabs.com

Q: Does Double Agenda include the playing of a second Goal as part of it’s effect?

…Double Agenda says “A second Goal can now be played…” The person I was playing with thought this meant they automatically got to put a second Goal down as part of the Double Agenda play.

A: Double Agenda allows there to be two Goals at the same time, but playing a second Goal (or even first if you’re really early in the game!) still uses up one of your plays for your turn.

Back To Top

Q: What happens if an UnGoal is fulfilled but the Traitor is in play?

…There are a couple of different outcomes when an UnGoal is fulfilled. The standard result is that everyone loses, however, there are a few cases where someone can win with an UnGoal. The question is, does the Traitor get to “steal the win” in any of these cases?

A: Lucky for us, The Traitor card only mentions Goals, not UnGoals, so having The Traitor in play does not do anything special in the case of a game ending due to an UnGoal:

• If everyone loses, the person with the Traitor loses as well: though “Evil wins” it was due to an UnGoal and not a Goal.
• If the person who has he Traitor wins because of the UnGoal, they simply win, since it only prevents victory by Goal, not UnGoal.
• If some other player wins because of the UnGoal, they simply win, because the Traitor can only steal wins achieved through a Goal.

Back To Top

Q: What happens if a Goal and UnGoal are met at the same time?

… We were playing Cthulhu Fluxx, and what complicates things is that my wife had the Secret Cultist, so she would win if the UnGoal overrides the Goal, but my son would have won with the Goal if that overrides the UnGoal. [Note from Looney Labs, in Cthulhu Fluxx, a simultaneous Goal and UnGoal could arise from either Double Agenda or The Stars Are Right. Zombie Fluxx and Martian Fluxx could also generate this condition since they both have Double Agenda and an UnGoal. Zombie Fluxx also has the Zombie Boss Rule which can make a player win in the case of the UnGoal being met.]

A: Well, this IS a doozy. Andy and I had to think this through carefully.

But in the end, the answer seems obvious: on the rule sheet itself, at end of the first page in “Notes” is the ruling for ties:

“The game doesn’t end until there is a clear winner. If for some reason two of more players meet the winning conditions simultaneously, the game continues until a single winner emerges.”

So, for your situation, the answer is actually fairly simple: there were two players meeting winning conditions simultaneously, so keep playing until a clear winner emerges. Note that the “clear winner” need not be one of the two originally tied. It could happen that someone else manages to break the tie and win instead of either one of them.

What got a little tricky for us, is that we also wanted to rule in cases where the Cultist/Secret Cultist/Zombie Boss wasn’t invoked, which is to say when there is one player winning, but the conditions for “all players losing” is also met. How could that be? Would we rule that there is only one player winning? Or would we rule that there is “no clear winner”, since that player should simultaneously be both winning and losing?

We went with the latter: If a Goal and UnGoal are met simultaneously, then, even if there is not an actual player that can claim victory in the case of the UnGoal conditions, having the UnGoal met is like having the “forces of evil” be the winner. So if a player meets the winning condition, they are actually tied with “the forces of evil” , thus play would continue until a clear winner emerges.

In a way, all that the Cultist/Secret Cultist/Zombie Boss does is make an actual player represent those forces of evil, thereby claiming that victory.

Back To Top

Q: Why does Let’s Do That Again say we shouldn’t change the order of the discard pile?

…It seems like it wouldn’t really matter.

A: Actually, this is mostly unnecessary. There used to be a rule where one could take things out of the top three cards, but that card has been replaced in all current versions with this one, which is more liberal. That said, there is a promo card which allows you to take the bottom card off the discard pile, so it would matter if you were playing with the promo card Composting. Hmm.

In EcoFluxx, the Action Scavenger lets you look down through the discard pile and play the first Keeper you find. Anyhow, you could look at the other cards in your deck, and see if this is going to matter for the version you’re playing with. It’s a matter of logic.

Back To Top

Q: When we draw a Creeper, put it into play, and then “draw another card to replace it,” does that card replace the Creeper, discarding it?

A: It’s true, the Creeper card does say “immediately draw another card to replace it” but this doesn’t mean you replace the Creeper on the table, discarding it. This means “replace the Creeper in the number of cards you drew.” If you needed to draw 3 cards, and you drew them and one of them was a Creeper, you play the Creeper and draw another card, because that Creeper doesn’t count as one of the 3 cards you needed to draw (neither does it count against the number of cards you get to Play on your turn), so you have only drawn 2 cards, so you still need to draw a third.

You’re not replacing the Creeper from it’s place “in play” (i.e. on the table). You’re just replacing the card “lost” as part of your draw count because it was a Creeper. The idea is that Creepers go into play automatically, whether you want them to or not. They’re usually a problem for you, and you have to work to get rid of them (though sometimes you need them for Goals, otherwise, they hinder you).

Back To Top

Q: What the heck is this “MetaRule” thing sometimes mentioned? I’ve never seen one…

A: Only a few MetaRules occur in the entire Fluxx system. Here’s how they work: a MetaRule is like a standing house rule that all players can decide to use for the duration of the entire game. These have an orange stripe, and the Basic Rules card that comes with every deck was deemed to fall in this category. Usually only one or two would ever be included in a given deck, since they essentially represent alternate ways the game can be played. Here is a run-down of those that have ever actually existed.

Rules Escalation (early printings of Fluxx 4.0): Increases Basic Rules Draw & Play # when the discard pile is shuffled
No Creepers (later printings of Fluxx 4.0): Designates a game played without the four Creepers in the deck
Time Limit (Martian Fluxx): Play until a hidden timer runs out, and see who’s closest to winning
Cult Clash (Cthulhu Fluxx): Specifies a definitive winner for Cthulhu Fluxx if an Ungoal ends the game (good for tournaments)
Fluxx Dice (Fluxx Dice expansion): Starts the game with the Dice Override Rule in play as the default state
Plan B (Math Fluxx): Requires there be one form of mathematical win available at all times
Plan C (Math Fluxx): Makes all forms of mathematical wins available at all times as the ONLY way to win the game.

You might have heard of a handful of others because when Andy invented the card type, he discussed it in one of his blog posts, where he proposed some possible sample MetaRules, which were shown as graphics, but have never actually been printed.

Back To Top

Q: We think we’re missing cards in Martian Fluxx. Some Goals have a symbol for “human” or “female” but none of the cards have these symbols. Can you send us the cards we need?

A: Sorry for the lack of clarity! You are not missing any cards from the deck. Those are symbols which appear on Goals to make it easier to designate a class of cards. You’ll see a little more info about them at the top of the second page of the instructions.

Though they are not marked with a specific symbol, any card with “Human” or “Humans” in the title… has humans. That would be almost all of the Creepers (except for The Army and Germs) and one Keeper (Humans In Black). We felt that putting a “human” symbol on every single human card would be a bit redundant, since they all literally say they are humans. We did much the same thing in Zombie Fluxx, using a sort of skull symbol to designate “any Zombie” when we needed to indicate that for Goals, but we didn’t put that symbol on every Zombie Creeper in the deck. These things take up space!

The same for the Female symbol on Goals. I suppose we could have specifically labeled those Humans which should officially be considered “female” but we didn’t want to get into any complicated gender stuff here. It’s just a game. Any human which appears to you to be female would count as “a female of the species”. If you have players who want to get nitpicky about how some of the images are drawn, go through the deck with them and make official rulings on each card and add the symbol yourself. Hopefully people won’t get too bent out of shape about this.

Likewise, you may find mention of hats on one of the Goals. We didn’t make a special symbol for “having a hat” either. If the human looks like they are wearing a hat, they are, and we made sure the Beauty Queen clarified her headgear, as she was the only one we felt was a bit ambiguous.

Hope that clears things up! If you do want to check the card list on line, just in case you are actually missing anything, it’s here:
http://www.looneylabs.com/lists/martian-fluxx-card-list

Back To Top

Q: Can I put as many Humans in my Abduction Chamber as I want all at once?

…or can I only put one in per turn each time my turn comes around?

A: You can grab all your Humans and stick them in the Abduction Chamber all at once, if you want. You can take them out at any time, but they can only be hidden on your turn.

Back To Top

Q: The Meta Rule says these are played at the beginning of a game. Do you pull those out and deal separately?

A: You may notice that Meta-Rules have different backs from the rest of the cards. They are meant to not be shuffled into the deck at all, and the different back facilitates finding and pulling them if you accidentally shuffle them in. You just decide at the beginning of the game whether you want to play by those permanent rules or not. It’s like they are a house rule which all players decide on before starting.

This page has a short list and descriptions of all the MetaRules, with a little commentary.

Back To Top

Q: What happens to the two Goals when Double Agenda is trashed?

A: Whoever caused it to go away gets to choose which Goal stays in play, and which gets trashed.

Back To Top

Q: Could you clarify how many cards we can eliminate with Let’s Simplify? What does “up to half (rounded up)” mean?

A: The wording on Let’s Simplify is as clear as we could make it. If we had said that you may discard up to half of the New Rules in play, and there were an odd number (for example, five of them) you wouldn’t know whether you could should round up or down. But we tell you that you should ROUND UP when figuring out what “half” is, so in this example, you know you can discard up to three.

Of course, you may discard up to half – you don’t have to discard three; you could choose to discard just one or two, or even zero if you want. Those numbers are all less than “half (rounded up) of five”.

Back To Top

Q: If the Abduction Chamber gets trashed (or stolen), are the Humans in it also trashed (or stolen)?

A: The card alone is moved or trashed. The Humans inside are revealed and they remain with the player who used to have the Chamber.

Back To Top

Q: Can Humans be moved in and/or out of the Abduction Chamber at any time (as opposed to just during your turn)?

A: Although the wording is vague, our intention was that this should work similar to other cards like it which allow you to hide a Keeper or Creeper. You can take them out at any time, but you can only hide them on your turn.

Back To Top

Q: If one player has humans in the Abduction Chamber, can the humans be moved out of the Chamber or put back in as needed to meet any Goal in a quick succession?

For example in the instance where Goals were going to be played in succession during a Play All, can it be assumed that the player with the Abduction Chamber has as much time as they need between Goal plays to either show or cover their Humans as needed to meet the Goals that come up?

A: Yes and no. It is stated on the Abduction Chamber card that a player can reveal Humans from it at any time. Though it does not specify when a player can hide them, we intended for this card to work similarly to others like it: you can only put Humans into the Abduction Chamber on your turn. See Can Humans be moved in and/or out of the Abduction Chamber at any time…

When a series of Goal cards is played in succession, there must always be a check to see if anyone wins with each one. During that check, the player with the Abduction Chamber may choose to reveal their Humans, with the understanding that they cannot be put back in again. Of course, if they’ve been revealed to achieve a win, that point is fairly moot.

We would rule that the player who owns the Abduction Chamber is capable of checking to see its contents without choosing to reveal them, so they would really ONLY let their Humans out if it was to win the game.

Back To Top

Q: Who wins if player A plays the Martian Zookeeper Goal, with winning conditions in place, and Player B also meets the conditions, but their Humans are hidden in the Abduction Chamber?

To review: the Martian Zookeeper requires a Cow and a male and female Human, but ties are broken by whoever has more total Humans. So if player A is all set to win when they play the Goal, but B also meets the conditions, with more Humans, but they’re hidden in the Abduction Chamber, can player B reveal their Humans and win?

A: Player A wins. The Abduction Chamber can be accessed at any time, but it’s neither instantaneous nor retroactive. I might choose to set my Humans free during another player’s turn, when a change in the Goal or the Rules has altered the situation, but it does take a moment to open the cage and round them up.

In other words, if you’re set to win but you wouldn’t if my Humans were loose, I can’t stop you from winning by releasing my Humans. It’s too late, you’ve already won.

Back To Top

Q: Can someone stand up and move around the table to give someone Germs (or Con Crud), or do they have to remain seated?

A: No, it has to be someone you can reach from where you are sitting during the regular course of the game.

Back To Top

Q: For the purposes of goals, actions, Keeper powers, etc., exactly how many humans does the Humans In Black Keeper count as?

A: Three.

Back To Top

Q: The Action The Humans Are Revolting requires players to discard a Keeper, can that be from their hand, or must it be on the table?

A: Only Keepers on the table can be discarded during this Action. If you are supposed to discard a Keeper and you don’t have any on the table, you don’t discard anything, even if you hold Keepers in your hand.

Back To Top

Q: For the Retreat! UnGoal, do the players who have Germs and the Army also need to have other Creepers as well, or do those do double duty as “having a Creeper”?

To review: The Retreat! UnGoal says “If Germs and the Army are on the table, and all players have at least 1 Creeper, the game ends with no winner.” Do Germs and the Army count as “at least one Creeper” or do those players have to have at least 1 Creeper in addition to Germs and Army?

A: No, they don’t need an additional Creeper beyond Germs or Army to cause everyone to lose. Both those cards DO count as generic Creepers in addition to their specificity.

Back To Top

Q: How does the Telepathic Translator interact with Use What You Take?

Suppose I have the Telepathic Translator on the table and decide to play Use What You Take. Can I first look at the players hand, then play one of the cards as I see them? Or would the player be allowed to “shuffle” their hand after I’ve read their mind, thereby randomizing the card I take?

A: Yes, the other player can (and should) shuffle up their hand before allowing you take a card for Use What You Take. You can of course use the Telepathic Translator to see if that player has anything good in their hand before playing Use What You Take, but the card you get with that Action is to be chosen at random.

Back To Top

Q: Is giving Germs away mandatory when you have the Space Suit in play?

meaning that possession of the Space Suit would prevent you from winning with The Army Called In Sick?

A: The Space Suit says you CAN give away germs, but it doesn’t say you must, so, no, it’s not mandatory. (Just because you have it doesn’t mean you’re wearing it.) So, no, having the Space Suit does not prevent you from winning with The Army Called In Sick.

Keep in mind, however, that if you have both in play, having decided to keep Germs despite having the Suit, you won’t be able to give Germs away until your turn, when you infect someone else. (Once you’ve gotten sick, you’ll have to let the disease run its course before you can get better.) After that, you can reject someone giving you BACK the Germs, unless you want to declare once again, that, despite having the Suit, you’re still not wearing it. (Some people never learn!)

Back To Top

Q: If I already have Germs, and acquire the Space Suit, can I immediately get rid of Germs?

A: If you already have Germs when you play the Space Suit, then it’s too late for the Suit to protect you from the Germs – they are already in your system. In that case you just have to wait for enough time to pass for you to be able to give the Germs away. After that of course, you can’t be given the Germs again, because then the Space Suit will keep the Germs out.

Back To Top

Q: Do the cards you draw with the No-Hand Bonus count towards your Draw for that turn?

If I qualify for drawing three cards because of the No-Hand Bonus, and the Draw rule is five, do I draw a total of five cards or eight?

A: The No-Hand Bonus states: “Draw a new hand of 3 cards BEFORE observing the current draw rule” (emphasis added). Your drawing 3 cards is considered a “pre-turn action”: these cards essentially make up a “new hand” which simulates you having had a hand BEFORE starting your turn. Then you observe the current draw rule, which says draw 5 cards.

So you draw a total of eight cards in this case.

Secondary Q: So if I increase the Draw rule from Draw 2 to Draw 4 on my turn, do I still get to draw an extra 2 cards? One of my opponents argued that I had already drawn 5 for the Bonus plus the Draw 2, so I couldn’t draw more when I increased the Draw rule.

A: Since the cards drawn for the No-Hand bonus are separate from those drawn because of the Draw rule in play, and don’t count towards the number of cards drawn for your turn, YES, you get to draw two more cards when you increase the Draw from 2 to 4.

Back To Top

Q: When a card says “draw and play 1 extra card per turn” do I have to play the card I drew?

Do I have to set my hand aside so that card doesn’t mix with it, and play that card exactly, or does this just add to my total play, so I can add the extra card to my hand, and play whatever cards I want, increasing the number of plays I have?

A: “Draw and Play 1 extra card per turn” just increases your total draws and total plays for the turn by 1, so whatever card you draw that is “extra” just gets added to your hand like all the other cards you drew, and you can play whatever cards you want from your hand up to the play quantity plus 1.

Unless the card says you have to set aside your hand, you don’t, and you’re not required to play the specific card you drew card unless the option you’re invoking specifies that.

Back To Top

Q: What do I do if I draw a Creeper because of an Action?

for example, Draw 3 Play 2, or Everybody Gets 1?

A: If a Creeper is drawn by the active player during Draw 3, Play 2, or Everybody Gets 1 (or any other similar situation) that active player must take the Creeper (play it in front of themselves) and draw to replace, such that all the cards they have drawn for these purposes will contain no Creepers.

Actions that might cause you to draw a Creeper include:
Discard & Draw
Draw 3, Play 2 of Them
Draw 2 and Use ‘Em
Pandora’s Box
Dreams and Omens
Jackpot
Best Payday Ever!
Today’s Special
My Hovercraft Is Full Of Eels
What Is Your Quote?
Nudge, Nudge, Wink, Wink…
The Golden Cap

Back To Top

Q: If the rules are Draw 1, and I draw three Creepers in a row, how many cards do I redraw?

…I say it’s just one card, but my husband says it should be three, since three Creepers were drawn. Who is right?

A: For practical purposes, you are correct. If you have laid down three Creepers in a row like that, you are left needing to draw 1. After your draw phase, you should end up having drawn just 1 non-Creeper for your Draw 1.

If anyone is having a hard time wrapping their head around why this is, here’s a blow-by-blow description of what happens when you draw three Creepers in a row while trying to Draw 1.

You Draw 1. It’s a Creeper.
It goes in front of you, and you draw to replace it, hoping for a non-Creeper to satisfy the current Draw rule.
Your “draw to replace” is… a second Creeper.
It goes in front of you with the first, and you draw to replace it, hoping for a non-Creeper to satisfy the current Draw rule.
Your “draw to replace” is… a third Creeper.
It goes in front of you, and you draw to replace it, hoping for a non-Creeper to satisfy the current Draw rule.
Your “draw to replace” is… finally a non-Creeper, which you add to your hand, and you have successfully followed the current Draw rule, which is Draw 1.

As you can see, in some ways, your husband is right… but the thing is, the three cards that were “drawn to replace” did happen… they’re just over as soon as you draw 1 non-Creeper.

Back To Top

Q: If Double Agenda is on the table, and each Goal requires a different Creeper can you win by fulfilling both Goals?

For example, if the Goals were He Bravely Ran Away (requires the 3-Headed Giant) and Rabbits of DOOM (requires the Killer Rabbit).

A: No, not if they are two different Creepers like this. The 3-Headed Giant you need to win with He Bravely Ran Away prevents you from winning with Rabbits of DOOM, while the Killer Rabbit you need for that prevents you from winning with He Bravely Ran Away.

Back To Top

Q: If I have specific Creepers required for a Goal, but I also have other Creepers, can I still win with that goal?

A: In the vast majority of cases, you cannot win if you have Creepers not specifically required by the goal.

Exceptions:
• Do your extraneous Creepers say that they keep you from winning? (Almost all Creepers do, but if they don’t then go for it.)
• Is there a Rule in play that lets you win even if you have Creepers? (There are a couple of these, depending on which versions you have.)
• In Batman Fluxx, if the Goal requires a Villain, Villains don’t prevent you from winning. However, if the Goal does NOT require a Villain, then Villains EVERYWHERE prevent you from winning.
• In Nature Fluxx (aka EcoFluxx) all Creepers prevent everyone from winning, regardless of who has them.

See also: The… Goal requires a Keeper and either of two Creepers…

Back To Top

Q: When Double Agenda goes into play, does the next Goal played have to go in the second slot?

Or can it replace the single Goal in play, leaving a spot empty?

See this answer in a video!
Little Answers

A: If there is an empty slot for a Goal because of Double Agenda, the next Goal played must fill that spot, and not replace the single Goal already in play.

Back To Top

Q: For Actions that re/distribute Keepers and/or Creepers among the players, how are those dealt back out?

Do I get to decide who gets what? Do I get to decide how many to deal to each player? Do the recipients put them in their hands or on the table in front of them? Are they face up or face down? When I’m dealing them out, who do I start with?

A: First of all, only for Everybody Gets 1 (or Dreams & Omens) does the active player get to look at and decide who gets what. That’s a very different situation that the ones we’re talking about here. This question focuses on random (fairly even) redistribution along the lines of Share The Wealth.

The cards in question are shuffled or otherwise randomized so that the dealer does not know what’s being given out. They are then dealt out evenly, going around the circle clockwise, one card to each player in turn, continuing until the cards are all gone. Dealing starts with either the active player or the player to their left, with the intention of providing any possible benefit to the active player.

• So if it’s for Keepers, or a mixture of Keepers and Creepers, the active player should get the first card, because this is felt to be to their advantage, so they won’t get shorted if the number doesn’t deal out evenly. However, we would consider it an officially sanctioned house-rule if your group wanted to give the active player the option of starting with the player to their left instead of themselves. There could be reasons…

• For redistribution of Creepers-only, the card will usually say to start with the player to the left of the active player, because Creepers are generally considered a disadvantage, and this would mean that if anyone was going to receive fewer, it would always be the active player. However, as with other redistribution cards, your group may choose to let the active player decide whether they want to start with themselves or the person on their left. Again, we can think of reasons why someone might want to start distributing Creepers to themselves first.

Once dealt, all cards will be put into play immediately, so it’s OK to deal them out face up, but it’s sometimes better to deal them out face down, then have everybody reveal what they got all at once. As mentioned above, re/distributing by dealing will cause all players to end up with roughly equal numbers of cards. So if there are large discrepancies in the number of cards players had in play, this will even them out: players with a lot more than other players will end up with fewer than they had, and players with few or zero cards in play may end up with more. That’s the way it goes.

Here’s a list of redistributing cards, and their types:

Keepers only
Share the Wealth
Monster Mash
Run!!!
Keepers & Creepers
Mix It All Up
Zombie Jamboree
Crawling Chaos
Mass Hysteria
It’s a Cyclone!!!
Creepers only
Return of the Dead
Jailbreak/removal of Arkham Asylum rule

Scramble Keepers, which is only in early versions of “Basic” Fluxx (1.0-3.x) is the only Action which is different. While you still shuffle up the Keepers and hand them back randomly and they go back into play, you don’t deal them out evenly, but instead give each player the same number of Keepers they had before. When we came up with Share The Wealth, we felt it was far superior, as we liked the way it leveled the playing field, keeping the game more competitive, to maximize player engagement.

Back To Top

Q: For Everybody Gets 1, do I get to look at the cards before I hand them out to people?

The card reads, in part “You decide who gets what.” My brother thinks I should hand them out without looking at them, but I think I get to look at them so that I know what they all got, but they only know what they each got.

A: As you have surmised, there is indeed no meaning to the phrase “you decide who gets what” unless you get to look at all the cards before you hand them out (yes, the intention is that you hand them out face down so that each person only knows what they themselves got).

Many people’s first instinct upon seeing someone else play this card is to simply reach forward and draw from the deck themselves, as if it were indeed intended to be random, but most, upon a careful reading of the card, come to the correct conclusion.

Since we have plenty of room on this card, we started implementing clearer text on this card in 2016:
“You look at the cards and decide who gets what, dealing them out face down to each player.”

Back To Top

Q: If I Take Another Turn, do I have to comply with Hand and Keeper Limits in between my two turns?

See this answer in a video!
Little Answers

A: Yes. For a brief moment in between your turn and your extra turn it is technically not your turn, and you must comply with all Limit rules at that time.

Back To Top

Q: Can I apply cards that work on Keepers to Creepers as well?

For example, in Monty Python Fluxx, if I play Steal a Keeper, am I allowed to steal a Creeper instead?
Does a Keeper Limit allow me to discard creepers?

A: Keeper means Keeper, not Creeper. That’s why we changed the wording on “Trash a Keeper” to “Trash Something” so that it could mean both. But for “Steal a Keeper” it’s still just Keepers. Same with Exchange Keepers. It only applies to Keepers.

(I wanted to name it “Trash a -eeper” but for some reason that didn’t fly.)

There is no limit to the number of Creepers you can have in front of you.

Back To Top