Archives

Q: If Pandora’s Box is played while Dice Override is in effect, do we skip over Draw and Play rules as though they were Actions, as we turn over cards from the draw pile until we hit 3 New Rules?

Q: If Pandora’s Box is played while Dice Override is in effect, do we skip over Draw and Play rules as though they were Actions, as we turn over cards from the draw pile until we hit 3 New Rules?

A: No, Andy rules that, although Draw and Play rules are executed as though they are Actions when Dice Override is in play, they still count as Rules when you’re counting New Rules when turning over cards for Pandora’s Box.

Q: What happens if a Creeper comes up when Pandora’s Box is played?

A: Although the wording does use the word “draw” on most versions, we would rule that you’re not really drawing cards to execute this. None of these cards are going into your hand. It’s more like you’re checking each card, and only putting it into play if it’s a New Rule. We will be tweaking the wording on subsequent prints of this card. Consider it to say “Flip over the top card of the draw pile. If it is a New Rule, put it into play. Otherwise, put it on the discard pile. Keep doing this until you have put 3 New Rules into play.”

Unfortunately, on the version which is in the More Actions pack, we explicitly stated that you have to keep any Creepers that come up. We are not sure what we were thinking, BUT if your version of the card says you have to keep Creepers, then you keep them. If you want to alter your card to reflect otherwise, that’s up to you.

Q: When we use Pandora’s Box, should we comply with the New Rules as they come up, or after Pandora’s Box has been completed, and all New Rules have been played?

…For example, if the first New Rule that comes up is a Hand Limit 1, and the next one that comes up is a Hand Limit 3, does everyone have to comply with the Hand Limit 1, or can they wait until all the New Rules have been played, resulting in a final state of Hand Limit 3?

…Or, if the first New Rule that comes up increases the Draw, and the next one decreases it, should the active player Draw up to the requirement for the first rule, or wait until all the New Rules have come out and only Draw up to the number required by the later New Rule?

A: You should fully comply with each New Rule as it comes up. So, in the Hand Limit example, everyone (except the active player) needs to discard down to 1 card in hand (and will probably be irked when it goes back up again). The active player, of course, doesn’t have to comply with Limits until their turn ends. In the increased Draw rule example, the active player should Draw up to the higher number, and then draw no more when it goes down again.

Q: We got into a loop when we encountered the Cute Fuzzy Alien Creature while executing Pandora’s Box! How do we avoid this?

…While playing Pandora’s Box and going through the Draw Pile to find 3 new rules, a friend of mine drew the Cute Fuzzy Alien Creature which says that when discarded it should be placed on top of the Draw Pile, but this creates a loop. The player will have to constantly draw the Cute Fuzzy Alien Creature to then discard it, place again on top of the draw pile, draw it, and discard it again in a loop.

A: The Cute Fuzzy Alien only needs to be placed on the top of the draw pile if it is being discarded from play. (This is explicitly stated on later printings, actually.) This is because that effect is a special power of the Cute Fuzzy Alien (CFA), and, as such, only ever happens if the Keeper goes into play. Since Pandora’s Box does not put any Keepers drawn into play, the CFA would simply go into the discard pile with the other non-Rule cards passed over in that process.

Q: What happens if one of the Rules you turn up with Pandora’s Box is Inflation?

A: Then Pandora’s Box now goes to 4. Since everything happens immediately in Fluxx, Inflation is applied to the Action that caused it to be played. Even if it was the third Rule you played, and you thought it would be the last, you’d suddenly have to go to a fourth New Rule, so you’d continue.

Adventure Time Fluxx includes the Inflation analogue, Mathematical! Inflation is also available as a promo card to add to any Fluxx deck.

Math Fluxx includes a card called Increment All, which is similar to Inflation except it only affects Actions and New Rules.