Archives

Q: What happens to Evil if it’s attached to the Magic Ring, and I activate the Ring by putting it face-out in my hand?

… Does it detach from the Magic Ring, or is it left on the table, possibly re-attaching to a different Keeper?

A: The Magic Ring, while face-out in your hand, is still considered to be in a state of Having-Already-Been-Played, and the Evil can stay attached. In this case, the Evil should be held face-out in your hand, because it is attached to the Magic Ring.

If, however, you deactivate the Magic Ring by turning it back face-in with the rest of your hand, NOW it is fully in your hand, and Evil must detach and go back onto the table, attaching to a different Keeper if one is available. This would be a perfectly valid way to detach the Evil from the Magic Ring.

Q: Can the Magic Sword in Fantasy Fluxx banish itself if it is Evil?

A: To refresh, in Fantasy Fluxx, the Magic Sword Keeper has the ability to move one Creeper away from you to another player. Evil is an Attaching Creeper which could be attached to the Magic Sword. Evil does not impair its Keeper, however (cause it to lose its special ability), so the Magic Sword could still be used to “banish” Evil. Since Attaching Creepers and the Keeper they’re attached to stay together unless otherwise noted, the Magic Sword would end being used to banish itself. Think of this as the player looking at the sword, realizing it’s evil, and yeeting it away from themselves.

Contrast this with the behavior of the Laser Sword in Star Fluxx, which can be used to destroy a Creeper. The Laser Sword can not destroy the Creeper attached to itself, because that would mean destroying itself. Picture the player picking up a laser sword and attempting to use the laser sword to strike itself. It’s just not possible.

Q: In Fantasy Fluxx, if Evil is attached to a Keeper which is Invisible, what happens when Mix It All Up is played?

…Mix It All Up detaches Attaching Creepers. That is clear enough from the card, but what if the Keeper is Invisible, but it has a Creeper attached (Evil is the only Attaching Creeper in Fantasy Fluxx, so we’re basically talking about just that)… Would they stick together and both “become visible” and go into the Mix? Would they be split? Or would they both be considered Invisible?

A: This is a tricky case, so I consulted with Andy. His ruling is that attachment to an Invisible Keeper renders the Evil Invisible as well, so it would not be included in the Mix. After all, as an Attaching Creeper, Evil is a modifier of the item as much as Invisibility. If a Keeper is Invisible, it doesn’t make sense that becoming Evil would suddenly render it visible again.

Q: If a Goal requires a Keeper and Attaching Creeper, must it be attached to the Keeper on the Goal, or could it be attached to any of my Keepers?

… – For example: The Spock’s Beard Goal requires Spock and the Mirror Universe. If I had Spock, but the Mirror Universe is attached to Uhura, do I still win? Or does it have to be attached to Spock in order to win with that goal?

A: No, the Creeper does not have to be attached to the Keeper it goes with for the Goal.

This is sort of the corollary to this question: If my Attaching Creepers are not attached to the Keepers I need to win…

Q: How do we deal out the character and alignment cards in a four player game?

… The character chart says 1 for each of the four character types, but still has 1 for each of the two wizard types. 5 character cards for 4 players.

A: Remember that the alignment cards are not dealt out until after the character cards are, so:

Deal out the character cards, one to each player. There are four of them, one per player. No problem.

Only one person is the Wizard. Now scramble up alignment cards one Good & one Evil and give the Wizard one randomly, face down, and put the unused alignment away with nobody else looking at it. The Wizard now looks at their alignment card. They are either Good, or Evil, and only they know which.

Voila! You have four characters: a Guard, a Traitor, a Keyholder, and a Wizard (who may be either Good or Evil).

Q: In the case of an Evil Wizard in a four player game, how can the Keyholder ever win?

A: The Keyholder is not the only person who can take action to end the round. Remember that in the four player game, nobody knows who the Keyholder is, and the Wizard might be Evil or Good, only the Wizard knows their own alignment.

In the case of an Evil Wizard, here are the possible ending scenarios:
• (Evil) Wizard calls stop, correctly identifying the Keyholder out of three unknowns: Evil wins.
• (Evil) Wizard calls stop, incorrectly identifying the Keyholder out of three unknowns: Good wins.
• Guard calls stop, correctly identifying the Traitor out of two unknowns: Good wins.
• Guard calls stop, incorrectly identifying the Traitor out of two unknowns: Evil wins.
• Keyholder calls stop. In a scenario with an Evil Wizard, the Keyholder can only be incorrect, and Evil wins.
(Of course, it’s a 50/50 chance that the Wizard is Good, so in the opposite case, the Keyholder has an advantage. It balances out.
• The Traitor cannot call stop.

As you can see, it’s hardly impossible for the Keyholder to be on the winning team just because the Wizard happens to be Evil that round.

To round out the win/lose possibilities, of course, there are other outcomes if the Wizard is good:
• (Good) Wizard calls stop, correctly identifying the Traitor out of three unknowns: Good wins.
• (Good) Wizard calls stop, incorrectly identifying the Traitor out of three unknowns: Evil wins.
• Keyholder calls stop. In a scenario with a Good Wizard, the Keyholder can only be correct, and Good wins.

From the Keyholder’s perspective, of course, not knowing the alignment of the Wizard, they have a one in two chance, which is similar to the Guard.

Q: Can the Laser Sword (or Laser Pistol) destroy itself if it is Evil?

In Star Fluxx the Evil Creeper can be attached to any Keeper, including the Laser Sword, right? And the Evil Creeper doesn’t impair the Keeper it’s attached to… so if I have an Evil Laser Sword in front of me on the table can I use it to destroy itself?

The card says “You can discard any Keeper in front of you if it has a Creeper attached to it” which technically doesn’t exclude this case – but it doesn’t really make sense. How to resolve that?

A: Wow, you’re right. The wording doesn’t specifically exclude the Laser Sword being able to destroy itself, and yet that’s pretty illogical. It looks like we should have worded it:

“You can discard any other Keeper in front of you that has a Creeper attached to it.”
(emphasis added)
Or for the Laser Pistol “You can discard any Keeper in front of any player that has a Creeper attached to it (except the Pistol itself).”

We’ll probably want to tweak that wording on future print runs. For now, please go ahead and use the the logical interpretation that it can’t destroy itself. The Laser Pistol should be similarly limited to specify that it cannot destroy itself.

Q: Does Evil cause the Keeper that it’s attached to not to work?

A: No. (If that were the case, the card would say so.)

Thematically, it actually works quite well, sometimes BETTER if the Keeper is Evil. I think if you were using the Dark Side of the Unseen Force you’d be even more likely to mess with people’s heads. If you were a Bad Guy Space Captain it would totally be in character for you to shanghai other people’s Crew Members. And just because you’re an Evil Engineer doesn’t mean you can’t fix that Malfunctioning Robot – I mean, it might be your Killer Death Robot! You could be an Evil Doctor seeking to eradicate the peaceful Brain Parasite species. See, it totally works.

Evil also occurs in Fantasy Fluxx, where it is the only Attaching Creeper. Again, there’s no reason why it should cause anything to not work. The Magic Wand still turns any non-magical being into a Spellcaster, whether Evil is attached to the Person or the Wand, it makes no difference. There really aren’t any thematic reasons it should impair the Keeper either: there are plenty of Evil Spellcasters in the literature, evil Magic Rings (the most famous one does, in fact, turn one invisible, no less!) Evil Dragons, Evil Pirates, and so forth. Sadly, Evil is versatile, and seems to “work” with everything…