Archives

Q: We got into a loop when we encountered the Cute Fuzzy Alien Creature while executing Pandora’s Box! How do we avoid this?

…While playing Pandora’s Box and going through the Draw Pile to find 3 new rules, a friend of mine drew the Cute Fuzzy Alien Creature which says that once discarded it should be placed on top of the Draw Pile, but this creates a loop. The player will have to constantly draw the Cute Fuzzy Alien Creature to then discard it, place again on top of the draw pile, draw it, and discard it again in a loop.

A: Hmmm. That IS how those cards would work together. We would suggest a simple adjustment to the execution of the Pandora’s Box card:

When drawing cards to find three New Rules, take the cards you would discard (all non-Rules) and set them aside in a sort of temporary limbo discard pile. When you’ve found your three New Rules and put them in play, take all of the cards in the temporary discard and put them in the discard pile all at once, and put the Cute Fuzzy Alien Creature on the top of the draw pile at that time.

Q: If, for my one play, I play something that makes me win with the Cute Fuzzy Alien Creature, does it move to the next person before I can win?

A: Unlike some cards which declare that they do something “When the Goal changes” which would be simultaneous with the Goal play, simply taking your last play does not instantaneously end your turn. So there’s plenty of time for the Goal to take effect, and for you to win. In effect, you win ON your turn, so your turn doesn’t “end”… the game itself ends, with you as the winner.

Q: We think there’s an infinite loop causing the Cute Fuzzy Alien (or Weyoun) to get passed around the table with a Keeper Limit and Draw 1.

I was just reading the FAQ on Star Fluxx as it is one of my favorite games. In reference to this question, if I understand this correctly, it is an option to discard the Cute Fuzzy Alien (CFA) to comply with the Keeper Limit, or pass it on before complying. If you discard it to comply, it then goes on top of the draw pile. But if the next player is in an identical situation he can do the same (discard it to comply with the Keeper Limit, thus putting it on the draw pile)? If the rule is draw one, this keeps on happening until someone decides not to discard fuzzy or just passes it along? Is this correct?

A: So the answer is yes, mostly. In order for it to be a truly limiting loop, everyone would also have to be at zero cards in hand, so that they are forced to play the one card they draw. Otherwise, they could draw the CFA, and decide not to play it (after all, it’s not a Creeper!) or they’d have the possibility of other card plays in addition to the CFA, which could possibly break the cycle in any number of ways, like changing or getting rid of the Keeper Limit, increasing the Draw or Play rules, or even changing the Goal (there are some Goals which the CFA could make someone win!)

Also note that in this case there is very little difference between deciding to discard it, and deciding to pass it. If the next player is at already at the Keeper Limit, they have to comply before drawing anyhow, so if they don’t sacrifice some other Keeper, they’ll just end up drawing the CFA themselves anyhow. At least if you pass instead of discarding it, it’s up to them whether they want to sacrifice some other Keeper so that they aren’t forced to draw the CFA again.

Aside from that, yes, you are correct, it will continue if everybody is really stubborn and chooses not to break the cycle. And yes, the two ways one might break the cycle would be:

a) To pass before complying with the Keeper Limit instead of discarding the CFA to comply, which would allow the next person to choose to discard a different Keeper instead.
or
b) By choosing to discard some other Keeper oneself, only reaping the benefits of that choice indirectly in that it keeps the game going.

Note that Weyoun in Star Trek: DS9 Fluxx also goes on the draw pile when discarded from play… except that, unlike the CFA, he does not automatically move around the table, so you don’t have an option to pass vs. discard, your only option is b) to discard him, or not to discard him (that is the question!) Discarding him ends up causing him to be passed along in the Draw to the next player. Not discarding him would not end up passing him along.

Q: Does the Cute Fuzzy Alien Creature count towards a Keeper Limit? If so, is it passed before or after one complies with the limit?

A: Yes, the Cute Fuzzy Alien (CFA) absolutely counts towards the Keeper Limit. The player whose turn is ending can decide whether to pass the creature and then comply with the Keeper limit, or comply with the Keeper limit and then pass the fuzzy creature. The next player may decide to do it differently if they want.

So, when the CFA is discarded, it goes onto the top of the draw pile instead of the discard pile. This has the possibility of causing some loopy-type action, but it’s not that difficult to disrupt unless you have really stubborn players.

See We think there’s an infinite loop with the Cute Fuzzy Alien…

Q: Can I use the Shotgun to kill someone else’s Zombie Quartet before I draw, so that I can draw it?

Suppose my opponent has the Zombie Quartet, I have the Shotgun and a Single, Duo, and Trio Zombie, and the goal is “4,3,2,1.” I have not drawn yet. May I shoot the Zombie Quartet with the Shotgun before I draw, so that I can take it myself?

A: Yes. You can use the optional Shotgun action at any point during your turn, including as the very first thing you do before drawing cards.

(You could use the Laser Pistol in Star Fluxx to shoot the Cute Fuzzy Alien if it had a Creeper attached, to put it on top of the draw pile, too)