A: When Cosmic Instructions is played, it causes UnGoals to be treated exactly like Creepers, so if you draw one as part of your D3P2 play, you need to immediately play it and draw to replace to your mini-hand until you have 3 cards, none of which are UnGoals (or Creepers). Then Play 2 and discard the remaining card.
Just to clarify: Strange Aeons has you look everywhere (people’s hands, discard pile, draw deck) for the two New Rules cards Cosmic Instructions and The Stars Are Right, and put them into play. Cosmic Instructions further says that whoever puts it into play gets to immediately draw 3 extra cards.
A: No, if Cosmic Instructions is already in play when you play Strange Aeons, you’re not putting it into play “again”. It’s just already in play, that half of the effects of Strange Aeons would simply do nothing. In fact, if both Cosmic Instructions AND The Stars Are Right are already in play, Strange Aeons would have no effect at all.
Similarly, can a face down Cosmic Instructions or The Stars are Right be found by Strange Aeons?
A: You would get to look in all of the places mentioned (people’s hands*, the draw pile, and the discard pile) for the pertinent item/s, and, if you did not find them, you’d just have to conclude that they were one of those face-down cards*. Since that is not called out as a location you can recover a card from, you are not allowed to look at or take one of those face-down cards. They’re sort of in their own separate world outside reality, aren’t they? Very Lovecraftian.
*If someone tried to get sneaky and lie about having one of those cards in their hand, figuring it would be concluded that the card sought was face down, remember that everyone will see those face down cards as they come into play, so if the card DOESN’T come up, then somebody was cheating… or you’re missing a card in your deck. Contact us, and we’ll replace it.
Cosmic Instructions says one gets to draw extra when the card is “first put into play”. Does that mean that if it comes up again in the game, the person playing it doesn’t get to draw those extra cards?
A: In consultation with Andy, we concluded that the word “first” is redundant and unnecessary. Just pretend it’s not there. What is meant is that when the card is put into play (from a state of not previously having been in play) this special action is invoked. So yes, if Cosmic Instructions is trashed via Rules Reset or some other card, and later finds its way into someone’s hand and they play it again (or is pulled via Strange Aeons), the person playing it gets to draw the extra three cards.
A: When Cosmic Instructions is played, it causes UnGoals to be treated exactly like Creepers, so you’d have to play them all. You get to decide the order, but they all have to go down. Then draw to replace and continue with your turn… if you have not all LOOSSSTTTT!!!!
A: No. (That’s why you also draw an extra card — it’s like the Ungoal plays itself automatically and you get a different card in your hand instead.) When Cosmic Instructions is in effect, it causes UnGoals to be treated exactly like Creepers: automatic play and draw to replace, not counting against your Draw or Play quantity.
For example, suppose we are at Draw 1 and I play Draw 5 as the first of my Draw 3 Play 2 cards. I’d need to immediately Draw more cards, right? So Where do they go? Should I put the extra cards in my original hand or in the side hand I’m using for the “Draw 3 Play 2” card?
A: New cards would be added to your set-aside hand in this case. Since you’d already drawn 1 new card at the start of your turn, you’d need to Draw 4 more and add them to your set-aside hand. It’s OK to look at them as you do — in fact, you need to, since you’d need to play and redraw any Creepers that came up in those 4 cards.
Similarly, if you played Jackpot! you’d add the new cards to your set-aside hand, and if you played Discard and Draw, it would be your set aside hand that you’d throw away and replace. If you played Rotate Hands, it would be your set-aside hand that you rotated.
Note that this ruling will also apply to Draw 2 and Use ‘Em (D2UE) and Fizzbin.