Zendo FAQ

If you don’t see your question answered among these, please email us at:
FAQ@looneylabs.com

Q: What size are the new Zendo pieces, relative to regular pyramids? Would they fit in a Volcano board?

A: The pyramids in the new Zendo set are the size of a medium Icehouse pyramid, and the other Zendo pieces have the expected proportions, in other words the square base shape of all of them is the same size. So they will fit in a Volcano board just fine, but they’ll be a little smaller than the squares, since the Volcano board is designed to hold a large.

Back To Top

Q: Could I get the Rule cards from the new Zendo to use with my pyramids?

A: You won’t be able to use the Zendo cards from the current version with pyramids, because Zendo 2.0 uses three shapes (blocks, pyramids, wedges) and three colors (red, yellow, blue), and one size (medium, as it were), instead of one shape (pyramids), four colors (red, yellow, green, blue), and three sizes (small, medium, large).

Sorry about that! You should get the new version

Back To Top

Q: When using a Rule in Zendo which has a decoy spot, am I required to put a clip on it?

A: Usually, but not necessarily. You should always be putting two clips on the Rule card, but in some cases there are two halves of a Rule you could mark, and you only need to use the decoy spot if you’re only using one half of the qualities listed.

There are just three cards in the base set where the decoy spot might be left unused. Those cards are:

5: A structure must contain at least one:
[yellow/blue/red] [decoy] [block/pyramid/wedge]

26: A structure must contain at least one UNGROUNDED:
[yellow/blue/red] [decoy] [pyramid/block/wedge]

32: A structure must contain ZERO:
[yellow/blue/red] [decoy] [blocks/pyramids/wedges]

So let’s take a look at the first one, and see what kinds of rules we could make out of it, using two clips.

Using the top section and the decoy, we can get:
• A structure must contain at least one yellow.
• A structure must contain at least one blue.
• A structure must contain at least one red.

Using the decoy and the bottom section, we can get:
• A structure must contain at least one block.
• A structure must contain at least one pyramid.
• A structure must contain at least one wedge.

Using the top and bottom sections, with no decoy, we can get:
• A structure must contain at least one yellow block
• A structure must contain at least one yellow pyramid
• A structure must contain at least one yellow wedge
• A structure must contain at least one blue block
• A structure must contain at least one blue pyramid
• A structure must contain at least one blue wedge
• A structure must contain at least one red block
• A structure must contain at least one red pyramid
• A structure must contain at least one red wedge

Back To Top

Q: What does it mean when a card says its action is a “free play” or a “free action”? Does using a special ability listed on a Keeper or Creeper count as a Play?

Does it count as one of your plays for your turn to do this thing?

A: No. That’s the whole point of it being “free”. It does not use one of your plays. Depending on the game we’re talking about (there are cards like this in Chrononauts and Back To The Future, in addition to many in Fluxx editions), you might only be getting one play per turn, and whatever this thing does won’t use up your play for the turn.

Back To Top