If you don’t see your question answered among these, please email us at:
Note that you may see some questions about Surprises, or even the Memo From Your Future Self, since Stop Time functions pretty much the same as those.
- Q: Is there any time-limit for how long someone can take on their turn?
- Q: The text on Desperate Grab reads “You may choose to discard…” Does this mean that the player may choose NOT to discard their hand and therefore NOT move their token?
- Q: What if I play the card Near Yet Far while I have the Time Breaker in custody and we’re on the same tile?
- Q: If a player has the TimeBreaker in custody, can they win the game with Shut & Run?
- Q: If the arrows out of the TRA work just like the arrows on the other tiles, does that mean they bounce you back to the TRA if the destination tile is crashed?
- Q: Do wrapping and gap rules apply to adjacency?
- Q: When a player is allowed multiple plays on their turn, are there any guidelines for timing between plays?
- Q: If multiple Surprises are canceled by each other, how do you figure out what happens in the end?
Q: Is there any time-limit for how long someone can take on their turn?
A: There’s no time-limit on how long someone may take for their turn, but annoying the other players by taking forever to make decisions may make them decide they don’t want to play with you very often. In other words, the only time limit is the tolerance of your fellow gamers.
We’d suppose this applies to… almost any game, though what is considered a reasonable amount of time for a turn probably varies from game to game. As long as you are within what is considered average for that game, you’re probably fine.
Q: The text on Desperate Grab reads “You may choose to discard…” Does this mean that the player may choose NOT to discard their hand and therefore NOT move their token?
…What about if it comes up via a Wormhole?
A: Yes, the language on Desperate Grab is deliberately optional, since it’s such a drastic move. You can choose not to do it. So if you drew it for a Wormhole, and didn’t want to, you’d just not do it, and the card would have no effect.
Q: What if I play the card Near Yet Far while I have the Time Breaker in custody and we’re on the same tile?
A: Andy says, “Wow, that’s a curious case! You can always play any card, but what exactly should happen? I guess I’d have to say you move to an adjacent tile and the Time Breaker comes with you.”
Yes, even if you and the Time Breaker are adjacent to TRHQ, you can move to that adjacent spot with the Time Breaker in tow. “What a stroke of luck!”
Q: If a player has the TimeBreaker in custody, can they win the game with Shut & Run?
…If due to the Shut & Run card the TimeBreaker moves to the Time Repair HQ, and at the same time the player does as well because their gate tile just crashed…
A: No. Remember, Shut & Run, like all Breaker cards, represents the TimeBreaker breaking free and taking an action on their own. So this is just a form of the situation in which the TimeBreaker is turning themself in. The Agent arrives back at HQ just in time to watch as TimeBreaker begins confessing and begging for mercy.
Q: If the arrows out of the TRA work just like the arrows on the other tiles, does that mean they bounce you back to the TRA if the destination tile is crashed?
Andy says that the arrows going out from the Time Repair Agency are like a combination of the arrows on the tiles, and the Move card arrows.
Like the other tile arrows, you can choose to follow one as your turn action, without having to play a card. However, directionally, and with respect to the Wraps & Gaps rule, they are more like using a Move card, so you would jump over missing tiles as if you’d moved horizontally or vertically, rather than being bounced back to TRA as if you’d landed on them out of nowhere from another timeline tile arrow.
Q: Do wrapping and gap rules apply to adjacency?
A: Yes gaps and wraparound are taken into account. So if there’s a gap next to the TB, you could move your piece to the other side of the gap, and if they’re on a corner, being on an orthogonal corner would also be adjacent.
Q: When a player is allowed multiple plays on their turn, are there any guidelines for timing between plays?
A: TLDR: Officially, no… BUT, when playing in any of our games which include interrupt cards which cancel a previous play (Surprise, Memo From Your Future Self, Stop Time) it’s good practice to play a little slower if you happen to be executing multiple plays, so that your opponents have plenty of time to play one of these cards, should they so desire.
Deliberately playing super-fast, “shotgunning” as one fan put it, is just rude, and, rather than avoiding arguments about interrupts, actually ends up causing them. So if you have someone who insists upon playing that way, feel free to implement a requirement of a full one-hippopotamus silent count between card plays. We think those worried about their second-to-last winning play being foiled by an interrupt will find that others are not as psychic as they feared. Read on…
So here’s a typical Surprise situation, which can cause a bit of controversy:
I recently won when the rules called for Play 2. I played my first card, a Keeper, and then a moment later I played a Goal card that caused me to win. My opponent then showed me that he had the Surprise card in his hand that could have stopped me from playing the Keeper, and we had a brief discussion about whether I should have left him more time to consider playing it.
In my opponent’s defense, I didn’t leave him much time to play his Surprise card that would have allowed him to take my Keeper for himself. In my defense, he didn’t really have any reason to play the Surprise card and take the Keeper – until he saw that my next play was the winning Goal.
So… are there guidelines on timing between playing consecutive cards?
Slapping them down so quickly that no one has a chance to do anything doesn’t seem entirely fair – but it also doesn’t seem strategic after playing a card to wait and look around at other players to see if they have any game response before playing the next card.
(Related question: A player doesn’t have to “announce” or “report” their play out loud, right? They can just play their cards and if other players aren’t paying attention, that’s the fault of the other players? We all want to have good sportsmanship, but you know how games can sometimes get, in terms of either other players not paying attention, or in terms of being very competitive!)
Here’s our response:
While we don’t have any official guidelines about exact timing of card plays, We recommend a slight pause between a two-card play like this when the active player knows it’s going to make them win. It’s rarely the case that the person with the Keeper-stopper will intuitively know that the necessary Goal is coming… until it gets there (or vice-versa: if they had the Goal-stopper, and you’d decided to play the Keeper last, they couldn’t know you’d have the winning Keeper to play after the innocuous Goal), so playing slow is often to your advantage, as the player who’s about to win.
In fact, playing casually, even pretending you don’t know what you want to play next, can be a great move. Playing slowly enough to allow a possible Surprise doesn’t have to mean broadcasting your impending win. (For example, looking significantly around the table as if expecting a challenge). Of course, announcing your your play is in no way required, but could even be part of your nonchalant act, depending on how you do it. (“Hmm… Well, there’s this Small Moon… and… let’s see… That’s No Moon, for the win!”)
That said, one often doesn’t have the presence of mind to think about deliberately hesitating. In real life, you’re usually just taking your play, and winning, at regular game speed.
Here is where the question is really about what your opponent was thinking, and they have to be honest about it: did it only occur to them to play the Surprise after you’d played the winning Goal? If you’d just accidentally played the Goal first, and then the Keeper, their Keeper-canceling Surprise would have gone through and prevented your win. But just as they couldn’t know your next play would be the end of the game, you couldn’t know they had a Surprise. For all you knew, they had the Goal-stopping Surprise, and it’s just chance which order you chose to play those two cards in. It’s not as though you deliberately played in such a way as to deliberately thwart a Surprise on your first play.
The thing to point out here is that, had you stopped playing after the Keeper, would it even have occurred to them to use the Surprise? Probably not, if they’re being honest. It’s extremely rare that one’s opponent is prescient or observant enough to realize that this play might be your second-to-last. People rarely want to squander a Surprise on the off-chance that your next play will be the winning one*. In the kind of situation you describe, the Surprise-having player usually just shrugs, and says “Darn! I had [the Surprise that would have prevented your second-to-last play], and I could have stopped that play, but it’s too late now… Oh well. Let’s deal again…”
Because, in the end, if they didn’t get that Surprise in after the applicable card, that’s the way it goes, and that’s the official ruling if people get – ahem – unruly.
*I mean, imagine it. If they’d canceled your Keeper before you’d played the winning Goal, your best reaction is probably simply to shrug as if mildly confused by such a powerful play, apparently for nothing, and make them feel like they just wasted their Surprise on a random Keeper play… heh heh. You don’t have to let them know they totally blocked your win. Meanwhile… you don’t have to get upset about missing that chance… it’s just Fluxx, and victory is snatched away at all the time in the course of any given game – usually completely by accident. Or you can let them know their spidey-senses were working, or congratulate them on how observant they are. It’s up to you.
Now let’s return to that “shotgunning” player who’s deliberately playing quickly so that nobody can slip a Surprise in on that penultimate play… It is, as the fan above pointed out, not entirely fair, and, moreover, it invites the argument “But you didn’t leave me enough time to play my Surprise!” If, on the other hand they had played it slowly, as described above, their opponent has no excuse to challenge the win, on the claim that they “were going to play a Surprise.” The opponent had plenty of time, but in the vast majority of cases, they won’t play the Surprise, because they have no idea what’s coming next. That’s part of the beauty of Fluxx!
Q: If multiple Surprises are canceled by each other, how do you figure out what happens in the end?
Player A uses That’s Mine for its in-turn function to steal a Keeper from Player B
Player B uses It’s A Trap! to cancel the steal, and instead steal from Player A
Player A uses Canceled plans to cancel It’s A Trap, since Surprises can cancel Surprises.
Does the original steal go through? Player B argued that there was no steal in either direction, as both That’s Mine and It’s A Trap had been canceled by subsequent Surprises.
A: The short answer is that That’s Mine is carried out for it’s in-turn function for the Keeper steal.
The long answer:
- That’s Mine is played in turn: Keeper is stolen
- It’s A Trap is played out of turn by victim: That’s Mine is negated and the Keeper steal is reversed
- Cancelled plans negates It’s a Trap, which had previously been reversing the Keeper steal and negating That’s Mine. This leaves That’s Mine un-negated to steal the Keeper as originally played
It’s not that cards just get put on the discard pile, covered and they’re gone. Think of each card as going into a “being played” area only into the discard pile when they are done being used, or when negated for good. There was sort of a little wrestling match out there in the “being played” area between all the Surprises, and It’s A Trap lost.
Here is a generic version of what a battle like this could look like. It can continue until you run out of Surprises. Keep in mind that it’s totally possible and allowed for some other player, for example, Player C, to jump in on either side, potentially confusing the toggle state of the original play. If things come to this, it may be very important to keep track of the original play being canceled, perhaps putting it in the middle and flipping it over to indicate which state it is in: effective, vs canceled.
- A plays some card X.
- B plays Surprise 1, canceling X.
- A cancels surprise 1 with Surprise 2, so X is in effect again.
- B cancels surprise 2 with Surprise 3, so Surprise 1 goes through, and X is canceled again.
and so forth. If there were more, it would look like this:
- A cancels surprise 3 with Surprise 4, so Surprise 2 goes through, canceling Surprise 1, so X happens.
- B cancels surprise 4 with Surprise 5, so Surprise 3 goes through, canceling Surprise 2, so Surprise 1 is in effect again, so X is canceled.
So far, the maximum number of Surprises in a version is 6, in Batman Fluxx, but here’s the page where we would update that info:
Complexity Factors for Fluxx editions