Archives

Q: What cards have effects that include ending my turn immediately if I play/use them?

A: Cards (Actions) that end your turn immediately if you play them:

Brain Transference: Star Fluxx
Time Portal: Star Fluxx
What Do You Want: Star Fluxx, Oz Fluxx, Doctor Who Fluxx
I’ll Be In My Bunk: Firefly Fluxx (This card does not specifically say that your turn ends immediately, but you certainly can’t continue your turn if you “Excuse yourself from the game and leave the room for a few minutes.”)

Cards (Rules) that end your turn immediately if you choose to utilize their ability:

Swap Plays for Draws
Get On With it

(Since “free” Rule-based actions are optional, the player is not obligated to use their power, so simply putting them into play does not end the players turn immediately. However if any player chooses to use the powers of these cards, the effect concludes with their turn ending immediately.)

Q: What happens if you draw a turn-ending card when you use Wormhole?

…It says the card played does not count as a Draw or Play, so does it still end your turn?

A: Yes, while that card you draw from Wormhole (or any of its analogues) doesn’t count against the Draw or Play count as shown on the rule cards, it’s still part of your turn, and the card still counts as being fully played. Whatever it says happens, happens. That’s the risk you take, pulling a card out of the Wormhole! Keep in mind that the turn-ending effect of New Rules is optional, so simply playing them does not end your turn.

Also remember you can take the Wormhole option at ANY time during your turn: before your Draws and Plays, in the middle of your Draws, in the middle of your Plays, or after both, if you like. That’s the only control you get to exert: WHEN and WHETHER you decide to play a card from the Wormhole.

Analogues of Wormhole (which is in Star Fluxx) include (some with slight variations such as conditional requirements for use):
Magic Shoes in Oz Fluxx
Shiny! in Firefly Fluxx

There are many other Wormhole analogues in other versions, but those versions don’t also include turn-ending Actions.

See also: Q: What cards have effects that include ending my turn immediately if I play/use them?
See also: Q: What are all the different cards in different versions where you get to draw the top card and play it immediately?

Q: What happens if I play an Action that causes my turn to end immediately in the middle of Draw 3 Play 2 or Draw 2 & Use Em (or Fizzbin)?

…Since these cards are all played as part of a single play, would the player get to finish playing them out, or would their turn just stop? And if it just stopped, what would happen to any unplayed cards? We’ve been letting the player keep them.

A: The clear answer is that if you decide to play one of these turn-ending Actions first, of course your turn would end immediately, as you have been playing it. Of course, in the case of Fizzbin, you don’t get a choice as to the order of cards played, but that card most closely resembles D3P2/D2UE, since you set your main hand aside, and are working from a temporary hand of extra cards to execute the Fizzbin.

However, there is NO way that any remaining cards would go back into your set-aside hand. They are never intended to go into your actual hand at all, as indicated by the requirement to set your hand aside. Any cards left unplayed when you played the turn-ending card are discarded. If you wanted to play them, you should have done it before the turn-ending card.

Brain Transference: Discard remaining cards in your temporary hand and trade places with the player of your choice. Turn ends.
Time Portal: Choose a card as described and add to your set-aside hand. Discard remaining cards in your temporary hand. Turn ends.
What Do You Want: If you choose to take a Keeper or Goal out of the discard, it goes into your set aside hand. Discard remaining cards in your temporary hand. Turn ends.
I’ll Be In My Bunk: This card does not specifically say that your turn ends immediately, but you certainly can’t continue your turn if you “Excuse yourself from the game and leave the room for a few minutes.” Discard any cards remaining in your temporary hand. Leave the room.

Swap Plays For Draws and Get On With It, while they do involve having your turn end immediately, are New Rules, not Actions, so, as you can see from this answer, things would work a bit differently:
See: Can you Get On With It or Swap Plays For Draws with your cards from an Action like Draw 3 Play 2?

Q: How does I’ll Be In My Bunk work in a two player game?

A: It doesn’t. After getting a related question on this, we realized that this card is not practical for a two player game. If one player left, the remaining player would simply be playing solitaire, taking turns until they won.* That’s no fun. Just remove this card when playing with two people.

*Though it’s certainly possible that the remaining player might have a situation where they’re forced to make the absent player win, that’s fairly rare, and we’d rather just rule that this card is not to be used in a two-player game.

Q: If someone plays I’ll Be In My Bunk, can they leave the room, but watch the game through the door, and wait for their turn to come up?

A: No. If the person “in their bunk” is watching from the other room, then they have not actually left the game, and are violating the spirit of the card. If they can see what’s happening enough to tell when their turn is, then it’s like they are actually still there with their stuff so there’s no reason you need to cut them any slack about messing with it.

Essentially, you are not allowed to use the immunity conferred (“you remain eligible for victory, but no one can mess with your stuff”) without also incurring the penalty of potentially missing turns. You can’t just hover there, being immune until your turn comes up, and then jump back into the game as soon as your turn comes up. And you can’t ask the other players to let you know when your turn comes up. They don’t owe you anything – you went to your bunk!

Q: For the card I’ll Be In My Bunk, does it mean that no-one can steal a Keeper, or just that they can’t cheat and look at your cards?

A: It means no-one can steal a Keeper, or a card from your hand, or trade hands with you, or whatever might alter your assets while you’re gone* (but you also would not benefit from Everybody Gets One!). We would consider not looking at someone’s hand to be baseline good sportsmanship, which does not have to be regulated.

“Don’t cheat” is kind of the first rule of every game (unless the game is really outside-the-box, in which case I’d expect it to be very explicit about what kinds of “cheating” are allowed, I guess. And if it’s allowed… is it cheating?)

* Here is a list of the cards in Firefly Fluxx which would not apply to you while you were “In Your Bunk”:
Exchange Keepers
Steal Something
Random Tax
Mix It All Up
Everybody Gets 1
Trash Something
Trade Hands
Use What You Take

Q: Is is possible/allowed to select You Are Bound By Law as an ongoing Action for Let’s Keep Doing That?

Because if one could choose You Are Bound By Law (YABBL) to use with Let’s Keep Doing That (LKDT), wouldn’t the affected player just never get a real turn again besides drawing cards? Especially in a two person game, the unaffected player could just keep having infinite “full” turns if they wanted to as long as they didn’t do Rules Reset, Trash a New Rule, etc.

Our official ruling would be that you just can’t use YABBL with LKDT because YABBL does not function the way other Actions do (it is given out for a duration to penalize another player, rather than being like a more traditional Action which is truly a one-time, right-now function for the current player, so that it could simply be executed to completion by each player repeatedly on their turn). So yes, it cannot apply because of the reason you said.

The other card which we would flag as incompatible to use with LKDT is I’ll Be In My Bunk. It’s just not practical for multiple people to get up and leave the room.

In general, if there are multiple interpretations, and one works, and one doesn’t, you can bet we’re going to rule that the one that breaks the game is incorrect. But we understand that it’s nice to get official verification on these things.

Q: If a card says “Your turn ends immediately,” but Play All is in effect, which takes precedence?

A: When you play an Action or use a New Rule card says “your turn ends immediately” it means it’s specifically overriding any Play rule that might otherwise require you to keep playing cards. You also end any option you may have to use Keeper powers or “free” Rule Actions. If it says “your turn ends immediately” then your turn ends immediately – so make sure you’re all done with stuff before you play/use one of these cards!

See: Q: What cards have effects that include ending my turn immediately if I play/use them?