Also be sure to check out All Fluxx FAQ for more general questions. If you don’t see your question answered among these, please email us at:
FAQ@looneylabs.com
- Q: Why do you call it an “acronym,” when what you really mean is “initialism”?
- Q: What is considered a word or not for Word Fluxx?
- Q: It is possible to use Get On With It if the rules are only Play 1?
- Q: If it’s draw 1, play all but 1, I draw 2 cards if I have no cards. If I then play draw 4, do I draw 2 or 3 more? Is that extra card counted as a draw or ignored like the no hand bonus is?
- Q: What happens if I have zero cards in hand, with Draw 1, Play 1 in effect, and the 1 card I draw and play is Play All But 1?
- Q: Can I use Get On With It if I played my only card, but the Play rule says to play more? Does that count as “before my final play”?
- Q: What cards have effects that include ending my turn immediately if I play/use them?
- Q: Could you clarify how many cards we can eliminate with Let’s Simplify? What does “up to half (rounded up)” mean?
- Q: Can you Get On With It or Swap Plays For Draws with your cards from an Action like Draw 3 Play 2?
- Q: If a card says “Your turn ends immediately,” but Play All is in effect, which takes precedence?
- Q: If something is played where “your turn ends immediately,” does it mean that you are not subject to the hand and Keeper limits that turn?
- Q: For Everybody Gets 1, do I get to look at the cards before I hand them out to people?
Q: Why do you call it an “acronym,” when what you really mean is “initialism”?
A: Because “acronym” is often used to encompass initialisms as well, and it’s much better-known and more widely-used of the two words, despite it’s having come onto the linguistic scene later.
Merriam-Webster definition of ACRONYM
Merriam-Webster article about the two, which discusses the history, and some reasons why things get mooshy.
The word acronym is vastly more widely used:
According to Google’s Books Frequency NGRAM viewer, the frequency of the word ACRONYM reaches 0.000182% relatively recently, while initialism tops out at 0.00000323%.
Here they are together on the same graph. I almost thought the website wasn’t yielding the correct results, because the second line was so flat I didn’t notice it!
Q: What is considered a word or not for Word Fluxx?
A: Unless the Goal states otherwise, a word must be commonly found in an English dictionary. Proper nouns* and slang do not count, again, unless the Goal states otherwise (unless you choose to allow them more broadly, as a house rule).
* Those usually capitalized like names and places.
Q: It is possible to use Get On With It if the rules are only Play 1?
… The wording “final play” makes it seem as if there’s more than one play needed….
A: If you have only one Play (or only one card to play, even if the rules allow more) then that one card would be both your first and your final play. So yes, there IS a final play, even if you’d only be playing one card.
So, in order to use Get On With It, you’d have to do it before your final play, i.e. before your ONLY play. You’d just not take your Play for that turn, and do Get On With It instead.
Q: If it’s draw 1, play all but 1, I draw 2 cards if I have no cards. If I then play draw 4, do I draw 2 or 3 more? Is that extra card counted as a draw or ignored like the no hand bonus is?
A: This is VERY good question, which we are surprised hasn’t come up before! We had to sit down and really contemplate the situation to make a ruling on this.
To recap, the Play All But 1 (New Rule) says “If you started with no cards in your hand and only drew 1, draw an extra card.” And, as we all know, when you play a card that increases the Draw amount, you get to draw the difference to increase your total cards drawn to the current New Rule in play.
The way Andy framed the question is “Is the extra card one draws like a ‘salary advance’ on your regular draw allotment , or is it more like a ‘bonus’ on top of your regular draw?” After some thought we felt that what the Play All But 1 card is doing is more like a temporary modification of the Basic Draw rule, and, as such, would make the extra card part of your total Draw allowance for your turn.
So, in the example presented in the question above, where (after having started with no cards, and Drawing 2) you have played Draw 4, you would draw only 2 additional cards (and continue to Play until you have only 1 card left in your hand).
Q: What happens if I have zero cards in hand, with Draw 1, Play 1 in effect, and the 1 card I draw and play is Play All But 1?
A: The card Play All But 1 says: Play all but 1 of your cards. If you started with no cards in your hand and only drew 1, draw an extra card.
So, the player in question, starting with zero cards, must play the card they draw. If that card turns out to be Play All But 1, then, as per the directions on that card, since they “started with no cards in [their] hand and only drew 1,” then they need to draw an extra card. Since the current Rule is Play All But 1, they are left with 1 card in their hand, and their turn is over.
*Note that in some earlier printings, the last instance of the number 1 is written out as “one,” but, to avoid conflicts with Inflation, it should actually be a numeral as written here.
Q: Can I use Get On With It if I played my only card, but the Play rule says to play more? Does that count as “before my final play”?
…I had one card in my hand, with Play 4 in effect. I played my card, an Action card which was then discarded. I wanted to claim to able to get 3 new cards because “Get On With It” which was on the table says I could since I had discarded my hand and had 4 – 1 = 3 plays left.
A: In order to take the option to Get On With It, you must be sacrificing (at least) one of your Plays, and you must be discarding a hand of at least one card.
The most obvious issue is that, at the point when you wanted to Get On With It, you didn’t discard your hand. You played an Action, and now your hand is empty. You have to have something to discard in order to discard something. Your hand has to exist in order to be discarded.
The second issue is almost a side effect. We would not consider you to “have plays left” if you have no cards to play. In this case your first play WAS your final play, so you can’t take this option because it’s not before your final play. In order to have a final play, you have to have a card to play.
The whole thing follows logically, since the card/s you could have played – but didn’t – will be remaining in your hand, and therefore among the cards you’re throwing away.
See also: Is Swap Plays For Draws limited by the number of cards you have in your hand?
Q: What cards have effects that include ending my turn immediately if I play/use them?
A: Cards (Actions) that end your turn immediately if you play them:
Brain Transference: Star Fluxx
Clean Cup!: Wonderland Fluxx
Time Portal: Star Fluxx, Doctor Who Fluxx, TNG Fluxx, Voyager Fluxx,
What Do You Want?: Star Fluxx, Oz Fluxx, Doctor Who Fluxx
I’ll Be In My Bunk: Firefly Fluxx
I’ll Be Right Back: Fluxx Remixx
(These last two cards don’t specifically say that your turn ends immediately, but you certainly can’t continue your turn if you “Excuse yourself from the game and leave the room for a few minutes.”)
Cards (Rules) that end your turn immediately if/when you execute them, but not when you play them:
Swap Plays for Draws
Get On With it
Play All +1 (not optional, but see below)
Free Action Rules are optional, so you could choose not to use one that will end your turn immediately. While Play All +1 is not optional, you have some options about when you choose to take that final +1.
Other questions pertaining to cards which cause your turn to end immediately:
Interaction with Play All
Interaction with Hand Limits
Using immediate turn-end Actions with compound Actions like Draw 3 Play 2, etc
Using immediate turn-end New Rules with compound Actions like Draw 3 Play 2, etc
Interaction with Play All +1
Also see:
Q: Could you clarify how many cards we can eliminate with Let’s Simplify? What does “up to half (rounded up)” mean?
A: The wording on Let’s Simplify is as clear as we could make it. If we had said that you may discard up to half of the New Rules in play, and there were an odd number (for example, five of them) you wouldn’t know whether you should round up or down. But we tell you that you should ROUND UP when figuring out what “half” is, so in this example, you know you can discard up to three.
Of course, you may discard up to half – you don’t have to discard three; you could choose to discard just one or two, or even zero if you want. Those numbers are all less than “half (rounded up) of five”.
Q: Can you Get On With It or Swap Plays For Draws with your cards from an Action like Draw 3 Play 2?
A: You could certainly put either of these New Rules (Get On With It, or Swap Plays For Draws) into play as part of an Action like Draw 3 Play 2 of them (D3P2) or Draw 2 and Use Em (D2UE), or Fizzbin (or your cards drawn via the Rule Goal Bonanza) but you could not utilize their functions while in the middle of executing one of these cards. While all four of these Actions/Free Actions do give you a sort of temporary hand, you can’t substitute it for your real hand to “discard and draw back up to 3”, for example.
You would either need to invoke Get On With It! before the Free/Action with the temporary hand is played or after. The Playing of D3P2/D2UE/Fizzbin/Goal Bonanza, and all actions as a result of it are considered 1 “Play”.
Q: If a card says “Your turn ends immediately,” but Play All is in effect, which takes precedence?
A: When you play an Action or use a New Rule card says “your turn ends immediately” it means it’s specifically overriding any Play rule that might otherwise require you to keep playing cards on this turn. You also end any option you may have to use Keeper powers or “Free Action” Rules. If it says “your turn ends immediately” then your turn ends immediately – so make sure you’re all done with stuff before you play/use one of these cards!
See: Q: What cards have effects that include ending my turn immediately if I play/use them?
Also see: Would putting either of these two into play cause Play All to be discarded?
Q: If something is played where “your turn ends immediately,” does it mean that you are not subject to the hand and Keeper limits that turn?
A: No. Hand and Keeper Limits apply to you when it’s not your turn, so you would observe them as soon as your turn ends.
See also: Q: What cards have effects that include ending my turn immediately if I play/use them?
Q: For Everybody Gets 1, do I get to look at the cards before I hand them out to people?
The card reads, in part “You decide who gets what.” My brother thinks I should hand them out without looking at them, but I think I get to look at them so that I know what they all got, but they only know what they each got.
A: As you have surmised, there is indeed no meaning to the phrase “you decide who gets what” unless you get to look at all the cards before you hand them out (yes, the intention is that you hand them out face down so that each person only knows what they themselves got).
Many people’s first instinct upon seeing someone else play this card is to simply reach forward and draw from the deck themselves, as if it were indeed intended to be random, but most, upon a careful reading of the card, come to the correct conclusion.
Since we have plenty of room on this card, we started implementing clearer text on this card in 2016:
“You look at the cards and decide who gets what, dealing them out face down to each player.”