Q: Can a player who is Bound By Law still use Surprises out-of-turn to interrupt someone else’s turn before their Bound-By-Law turn?

A: After some consideration, checking the exact wording on the card, which doesn’t mention Surprises, and thinking about it thematically as well… Andy says YES, you can use Surprises when you are Bound By Law.

Thematically, being Bound By Law is like you’re in jail, and you have one sort of limited, partly-lost turn where you draw but don’t play, and can’t use Free Actions – but a Surprise is, by nature, surprising, and who’s to say you couldn’t pull off some audacious plan that upsets your opponents, even from jail!