Archives

Q: Does the Librarian have the powers of the Necronomicon to move Creepers around?

A: No. The Librarian card states that it “Counts as the Necronomicon for purposes of Actions and Rules if the real Necronomicon isn’t on the table.” The power on the Necronomicon Keeper is not an Action or Rule, so the Librarian doesn’t get to do that stuff. Neither does he get to count as the Necronomicon for purposes of meeting Goal conditions, obviously.

There are only two Actions (Revelations of Azathoth, and The Yellow Sign) and one Rule (Miskatonic Studies) which mention the Necronomicon, and these are the cards for which the Librarian can stand in for the Necronomicon.

Q: Does having the Librarian in play let us draw & play an extra card for Miskatonic Study Group?

A: Well, as the Librarian card states, if the Necronomicon is not on the table, then the Librarian card counts as the Necronomicon for Actions and New Rules. Miskatonic Study Group is a New Rule. So, yes, players get to draw and play an extra card on their turn if the Librarian is out. The person who has the Librarian can take the extra bonus of ignoring Hand Limits – again, only if the real Necronomicon is not on the table. If the real Necronomicon is out, everyone will be able to take the general bonus, but only the person with the real Necronomicon gets to ignore Hand Limits.

See also: Does Animator count as the Finger Of God for smiting…